Page title

Current Regents

Main page content

The Board of Regents, the governing body for The University of Texas System, is composed of nine members who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Terms for Regents are scheduled for six years each and staggered so that three members' terms will usually expire on February 1 of odd-numbered years. In addition, the Governor appoints a Student Regent for a one-year term that expires on May 31.

Throughout the more than 100-year history of the UT System, the Board has been composed of dedicated and distinguished Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic programs, scientific inquiry, and responsible public service.


Kevin P. Eltife, Chairman
Janiece Longoria, Vice Chairman
James C. "Rad" Weaver, Vice Chairman

Members with term set to expire May 2024

Members with term set to expire February 2025

Members with term set to expire February 2027

Members with term set to expire February 2029


Each Regent's term expires when a successor has been appointed, qualified, and taken the oath of office. The Student Regent serves a one-year term.

Stacey Napier is the General Counsel to the Board of Regents.