Subsite Page Title

Texas Health Improvement Network (THIN)

Main page content


The Texas Health Improvement Network (THIN) is a multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional initiative working to catalyze population health improvement and health equity in Texas. 

THIN seeks to 

  • Serve as a trusted resource for decision-makers.
  • Facilitate the use of data to drive population health.
  • Align and increase resources for population health.
  • Support local and regional health improvement efforts.



Bi-Annual Report to the Legislature

The Texas Health Improvement Network (THIN) was created by the 84th legislature of the State of Texas through statute and signed into law by Governor
Abbott in 2015. The purpose of THIN is to catalyze population health improvement and increase health equity in Texas through multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional

Catalyzing Adoption of Telemedicine for Population Health and Health Equity in Texas

This report summarizes key issues identified through from a 2 day stakeholder meeting and provides a set of recommendations for policy makers and others committed to increasing adoption of telemedicine in Texas.

Partnering on a Joint Community Health Needs Assessment in Williamson County: Process and Lessons Learned

This report documents the coordinated effort of a local health department and three non-profit hospitals serving the same region to conduct a joint Community Health Needs Assessment.

Facilitating Use of Data to Drive Population Health in Texas

This report highlights issues and provides recommendations for policy makers and others committed to the responsible use of data resources for health improvement in Texas.

Texas Health Improvement Network Interim Charge Suggestions for 86th Legislature

With guidance from its 24–member Advisory Council, THIN developed a set of interim charges recommendations for the 86th Texas Legislature.


Advisory Council

Presiding Officers

David Lakey
UT System

Lewis Foxhall
MD Anderson Cancer Center


Jordana Barton
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, San Antonio

Karen Batory
Texas Medical Association

Nora Belcher
Texas e-Health Alliance

Ann Bishop
Employees Retirement System of Texas (Ret.)

Eric Boerwinkle
UTHealth Science Center, Houston

Brooke Boston
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Kirk Calhoun
UTHealth Science Center Tyler

Lynn Crismon
University of Texas at Austin

Katrina Daniel
Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Nancy Dickey
Texas A&M University

Epifanio Elizando
US Public Health Service (Ret.)

Victoria Ford
Health and Human Services Commission

Sonja Gaines
Health and Human Services Commission

Rebecca Garcia

Kay Ghahremani
Texas Association of Community-based Health Plans

John Hellerstedt
Texas Department of State Health Services

Denise Koo
Centers for Disease Control (Ret.)

Ginny Lewis
Texas Association of Regional Councils

Elena Marks
Episcopal Health Foundation

Octavio N. Martinez, Jr.
Hogg Foundation for Mental Health

Billy Philips
Texas Tech Health Sciences Center

Mitzi Ressman
Texas Hospital Association

Eduardo Sanchez
American Heart Association

Alan Stevens
Texas A&M College of Medicine

Dennis Thombs
UNT Health Science Center

Jaime Wesolowski
Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas, Inc.

Marc Williams
Texas Department of Transportation

Stephen Williams
Houston Department of Health