Who We Are

Legislative History

The Texas Health Improvement Network (THIN) was created by the 84th legislature of the State of Texas through statute and signed into law by Governor Abbott in 2015. The purpose of THIN is to catalyze population health improvement and increase health equity in Texas through multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional partnerships. THIN is administered by The University of Texas System, through the Office of Health Affairs.


THIN seeks to:

  • Serve as a trusted resource for decision-makers.
  • Facilitate the use of data to drive population health.
  • Align and increase resources for population health.
  • Support local and regional health improvement efforts.

Advisory Council

The THIN Advisory Council is a group of thirty leaders from both traditional and non-traditional sectors impacting health. (See attached for list of current members.) When the Council was established in 2016 it included members representing the state health agencies, state healthcare trade organizations, and the large Texas public employer and academic systems, including Teachers Retirement System of Texas, Employees Retirement System of Texas, University of Texas System, Texas A&M University System, Texas Tech University System, and University of North Texas System. At its inception the Council also included representation from several regional national organizations including the Federal Reserve, Episcopal Health Foundation, Houston Department of Health and Human Services, and American Heart Association.

Advisory Council Executive Officers

David Lakey
UT System

Lewis Foxhall
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Advisory Council Members

Karen Batory
Texas Medical Association

Eric Boerwinkle
UTHealth Science Center, Houston

Brooke Boston
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Nora Cox
Texas e-Health Alliance

Lynn Crismon
University of Texas at Austin

Katrina Daniel
Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Natasha Dixon
Health and Human Services Commission

Jamie Dudensing
Texas Association of Health Plans (TAHP)

Jana Eubank
Texas Association of Community Health Centers

Sonja Gaines
Health and Human Services Commission

Kay Ghahremani
Texas Association of Community-based Health Plans

Ginny Lewis
Texas Association of Regional Councils

Elena Marks
Rice University

Octavio N. Martinez, Jr.
Hogg Foundation for Mental Health

Billy Philips
Texas Tech Health Sciences Center

Jennifer Potter
UT Health San Antonio

Olga Rodriguez
Texas A&M University

Eduardo Sanchez
American Heart Association

Ankit Sanghavi
Texas Health Institute

Lee Spangler
UT Health Houston

Anna Stelter
Texas Hospital Association

Alan Stevens
Texas A&M College of Medicine

Jaime Wesolowski
Methodist Healthcare Ministries

Jamie Williams
It's Time Texas

Stephen Williams
Houston Department of Health

Communications: Nagla Elerian nelerian@utsystem.edu