Page title

Health Affairs

Main page content

Collage of the 6 health universities of the UT System, text on the image lists the names of the universities: UT Southwestern, UT Medical Branch at Galveston, UT Health Science Center at Houston, UT Health Science Center at San Antonio, UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, UT Health Science Center at Tyler.

The Office of Health Affairs has primary responsibility for the oversight of the six health institutions of The University of Texas System. Through the presidents of the institutions, the Office of Health Affairs has responsibility for the budgets, academic planning and programs, health care delivery, facilities planning and construction, and personnel (both academic and non-academic) of those institutions. The Office of Health Affairs and its six health institutions share a mission of education, clinical care, research, and community service.

Impact on Texas: Providing Excellence in Health Care For All Texans

An important part of mission of The University of Texas System is to provide excellent, affordable and compassionate patient care through hospitals and clinics that are of central importance to programs of teaching, scholarship, research and service associated with medicine and related health sciences.

Within the System's six health institutions, there are four medical schools, two dental schools, three nursing schools, five biomedical science graduate schools, four schools of health professions as well as a school of biomedical informatics and two schools of public health, including one with five regional campuses. (Additionally, two new medical schools are located at System’s academic institutions.)

The health institutions include UT MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, currently ranked as a top cancer center in the world, and the UT Health Science Center at Tyler, whose mission includes a mandate from the Legislature to lead the state's fight against tuberculosis. The UT System is the only System in the country to have four Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) from the National Institutes of Health.

Through teaching hospitals owned by UT System institutions and numerous affiliations with other teaching hospitals, as well as networks of community clinics, the health institutions are major providers of health care. System owned and affiliated hospitals and clinics have more than 6.78 million outpatient visits and the hospitals account for more than 1.38 million hospital days annually. In FY 2015, UT health institutions' faculty provided nearly 7.4 million outpatient visits and were responsible for nearly 1.5 million hospital days.

Our six health institutions were responsible for $1.65 billion in research expenditures

Texas invested $1.11 billion in state funding in the six UT System health institutions in FY 2014, which they leveraged that investment to secure additional financial resources for an annual budget of $9.4 billion:

To Produce:

  • Nearly 4,200 degrees awarded
  • More than 880 graduates of medical schools
  • More than 190 graduates of dental schools
  • Nearly 400 doctoral degrees
  • Nearly 1,500 graduates from nursing schools (25% are graduate level degrees)
  • 880 graduates from health profession schools (more than 60% at graduate level)
  • More than 360 public health scientists