Page title

Bernard Rapoport

Main page content

Bernard Rapoport
Bernard Rapoport

BERNARD RAPOPORT of Waco was appointed to a six-year term on the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System by Governor Ann Richards in 1991.

Since 1951, Mr. Rapoport has been chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the American Income Life Insurance Company in Waco.

Regent Rapoport was born on July 17, 1917, in San Antonio. He graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in 1939. He and his wife Audre have a son, Ronald B. Rapoport, who is on the faculty at the College of William and Mary in Virginia.

Mr. Rapoport is involved in many civic activities. He is active in the United Way of Waco McLennan County, the Central Texas Sickle Cell Anemia Association, the National Council on Crime and Delinquency and the National Hispanic Center for Advanced Studies and Policy Analysis. He is also committed to several Jewish organizations including The Jerusalem Foundation, Hebrew Union College and the Union of American Hebrew Congregations.

In 1983, the Rapoports established the Rapoport Centennial Chair in Economics and Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin. They also instituted the Audre and Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Liberal Arts, the Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professorship in Government, the Ralph W. Yarborough Centennial Professorship in Liberal Arts, the Edward Everett Hale Centennial Professorship in Economics and the Rapoport Centennial Professorship of Liberal Arts, all at U. T. Austin.

Mr. Rapoport serves as a Trustee for Paul Quinn College, the Waco Boy's Club Foundation and The Bernard and Audre Rapoport Foundation all of Waco. From 1979-1980, he was Waco Chairman of the United Negro College Fund.

Regent Rapoport is involved in numerous boards and committees, including The Brazos Club Board of Governors, the National Institute for Citizen Education in the Law, the Waco Business League, and the Texas Council of Advisors for the Institute for the Humanities at Salado. He also is a member of the board of directors for Central National Bank, Religion in American Life, the Texas Humanities Resource Center and the American Jewish Congress. National committees with which he is involved include the Economic Policy Institute, Joint Action In Community Service, Inc. and the Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies.

last updated February 13, 1991