Main page content

Allene Evans

Assistant Vice Chancellor & Managing Counsel, Health Law Section

Allene Evans is an Assistant Vice Chancellor and the Managing Counsel of the Health Law Section of the Office of General Counsel where she specializes in medical malpractice litigation and medical disciplinary defense. She is the Deputy Plan Administrator of the UT System Professional Medical Liability Plan.

Ms. Evans has more than 40 years of litigation experience in both private practice and government service with an emphasis on complex litigation, discovery management, problem solving, dispute resolution, bridge building and advocacy. She is AV®Preeminent rated in Health Law, Health Care Liability and Litigation. Before joining the Office of General Counsel, she specialized in litigating major products liability and catastrophic injury and death cases. Previously, Ms. Evans was appointed by Governor Ann Richards to the Texas State Board of Insurance. She also served as Chief of the Antitrust Division of Texas Attorney General’s Office, and as an Assistant Attorney General representing Texas financial regulatory and enforcement agencies and as a felony prosecutor. Earlier in her career, Ms. Evans worked at a Minneapolis law firm specializing in health law matters and as an associate counsel at Northwestern National Life Insurance Company.

Ms. Evans received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Adams State College, Alamosa, Colorado, and her JD cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School. She is admitted to practice before the state courts of Texas, Colorado and Minnesota and the United States Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals for the Fifth and Ninth Circuits and United States District Courts of the Western, Southern, Northern and Eastern Districts of Texas. Ms. Evans has served as the Chair of the Antitrust & Business Litigation Section of the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Chair of the Texas-Mexico Bar Association and is a long-time board member and past board chair of Texas Appleseed. Ms. Evans is the 2014-15 recipient of the Antitrust & Business Litigation Section's Distinguished Counselor Award.