Page title

Executive Director Adriana B. Nunemaker

Main page content


Adriana B. Nunemaker joined The University of Texas System, as the inaugural executive director of the University of Texas System Education and Research Center on September 20, 2021. The UT Center at Laredo, formerly the extension campus of UT Health San Antonio, transitioned to a multi-institution teaching center because of Senate Bill 884 which was authored by Texas State Senator Judith Zaffirini and supported by Texas House of Representatives Richard Raymond and Tracy King during the 87th Texas Legislative session.

Adriana collaborates with local education and workforce stakeholders to develop and promote healthcare pipeline programs and pathways and works with UT Institutions to bring new academic programs to the center to meet workforce needs The UT System institutions housed on campus are University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA), University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV), University of Texas Health-San Antonio and University of Texas Health -Houston, all of which deliver health – related academic programs.

Prior to joining the University of Texas System on September 20, 2021, Adriana served Laredo College as dean of the south campus, tenured professor, and allied health programs director, in the Health Sciences Division. She also worked at Laredo Medical Center as Director of Education. She became an educator in 1992 and worked at a local middle school. Adriana also worked in healthcare for several years as a medical laboratory technician.

Adriana holds a Master of Science in Law degree from Champlain College in Burlington, Vermont. She is also a graduate of the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, Texas where she earned a Master of Arts in Administration degree with a concentration in Organizational Development. She is a certified Medical Laboratory Technician through the American Society of Clinical Pathologists.

She serves as a lector at Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church and serves on the board of directors of the Laredo Chamber of Commerce and on the Laredo Economic Development Healthcare Taskforce.